Test dates, fees and locations

The British Council offers IELTS in four locations across Thailand's major cities: Bangkok, Chiangmai, Samut Prakan and Phuket.

The current Regular IELTS test fee: 6,900 THB (From 16 September 2017 test session onwards)

If you have further enquiry after the test please contact examinations@britishcouncil.or.th

 Note:

  • Use our Online Registration System to find up-to-date information about test dates and availability.
  • For in person registration, visit the British Council (Bangkok branch only) or authorised registration partners.
  • Your Listening, Reading and Writing test will be completed on the same day. Your Speaking test may be offered on the same day, or up to a week before or after your main test day. You will receive notification in advance if your Speaking test is on a different day to your main test day.
  • The test centres are equipped with high quality sound system and offer a full-scale facilities and professional services.
  • Please be informed that from September 2016 test session onwards, IELTS TRF will be posted to your registered mailing address:
    By EMS – Thailand Address
    By Registered Mail – Overseas Address
  • Exams Operating Hours: Monday-Saturday from 9.00-18.00
    Closed: Sunday & Public Holidays 
    Contact Email: examinations@britishcouncil.or.th

Bangkok test dates 2017 and venue

Test date 2017 Test version
7 January (Sat) Academic, General Training
12 January (Thu) Academic
14 January (Sat) Academic
21 January (Sat) Academic, General Training
11 February (Sat) Academic, General Training
16 February (Thu) Academic, General Training
18 February (Sat) Academic
25 February (Sat) Academic
4 March (Sat) Academic, General Training
18 March (Sat) Academic
25 March (Sat) Academic, General Training
30 March (Thu) Academic
8 April (Sat) Academic, General Training
22 April (Sat) Academic
29 April (Sat) Academic, General Training
6 May (Sat) Academic
13 May (Sat) Academic, General Training
20 May (Sat) Academic
25 May (Thu) Academic, General Training
3 June (Sat) Academic, General Training
8 June (Thu) Academic
17 June (Sat) Academic
24 June (Sat) Academic, General Training
8 July (Sat) Academic, General Training
15 July (Sat) Academic
20 July (Thu) Academic
29 July (Sat) Academic, General Training
3 August (Thu) Academic, General Training
12 August (Sat) Academic
19 August (Sat) Academic, General Training
26 August (Sat) Academic
9 September (Sat) Academic, General Training
16 September (Sat) Academic
21 September (Thu) Academic
30 September (Sat) Academic, General Training
5 October (Thu) Academic
14 October (Thu) Academic, General Training
21 October (Thu) Academic
28 October (Thu) Academic, General Training
2 November (Thu) Academic, General Training
4 November (Sat) Academic
11 November (Sat) Academic, General Training
25 November (Sat) Academic
2 December (Sat) Academic, General Training
9 December (Sat) Academic
14 December (Thu) Academic
16 December (Sat) Academic, General Training

Venue Details

The Landmark Bangkok

138 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (View map
(BTS Sky Train: Nana Station Exit2)

Chiang Mai test dates 2017 and venues

Test date 2017 Test version
7 January (Sat) Academic, General Training
21 January (Sat) Academic, General Training
11 February (Sat) Academic, General Training
16 February (Sat) Academic, General Training
4 March (Sat) Academic, General Training
30 March (Thu) Academic
8 April (Sat) Academic, General Training
29 April (Sat) Academic, General Training
13 May (Sat) Academic, General Training
25 May (Thu) Academic, General Training
8 June (Thu) Academic
24 June (Sat) Academic, General Training
8 July (Sat) Academic, General Training
20 July (Thu) Academic
3 August (Thu) Academic, General Training
19 August (Sat) Academic, General Training
9 September (Sat) Academic, General Training
21 September (Thu) Academic
14 October (Sat) Academic, General Training
28 October (Sat) Academic, General Training
11 November (Sat) Academic, General Training
25 November (Sat) Academic
2 December (Sat) Academic, General Training
16 December (Sat) Academic, General Training

How to register

Only online registration available for all sessions in Chiangmai
For more information please contact us at 02-6575678 or email: examinations@britishcouncil.or.th

Test venue

The Shangri-La hotel Chiang Mai

89/8 Chang Klan Road, Muang, Chiang Mai, 50100, Thailand (View map)

ABAC University test dates 2017 (Suvarnabhumi Campus)

Test date 2017 Test version
21 January Academic
18 February Academic
18 March Academic
08 April Academic
22 April Academic
24 June Academic
26 August  Academic
30 September Academic
21 October Academic
04 November Academic

If you are studying at ABAC University, please contact ABAC Study Abroad Centre (SG104) at 02 723 2503-4

Phuket test dates 2017 and venue

Test date 2017 Test version
13 May 2017 Academic & General Training
8 July 2017 Academic & General Training
14 Oct 2017 Academic & General Training

Please contact our authorised registration centre,

AVSS Phuket
97 Dibuk Road, Taladnua, Muang, Phuket, 83000
Tel/Fax : 081 537 7081 
E-mail: avssphuket@theavss.net

Test venue: New Dara Hotel Phuket

Phitsanulok test date 2017 and venue

Test date 2017 Test version
14 January (Sat) Academic

Please contact our authorised IELTS registration centre,

Cambridge College (Thailand)

Tel.: +66(0)55 223 925

Cambodia test dates 2017 and venue

Test date 2017 Test version
21 January (Sat) Academic
25 February (Sat) Academic
18 March (Sat) Academic
22 April (Sat) Academic
20 May (Sat) Academic
24 June (Sat) Academic
29 July (Sat) Academic
26 August (Sat) Academic
30 September (Sat)  Academic
28 October (Sat) Academic
25 November (Sat) Academic
9 December (Sat) Academic

Please contact our authorised IELTS registration centre,

Springboard4cambodia

Phnom Penh Centre building,

Third floor, Room 321, Sothearos Blvd,

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Office Tel/Fax: 85523987213

Website: www.springboard4cambodia.com

IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment. The IELTS test is designed and set by the world’s leading experts in language assessment to give a true picture of a test taker’s language skills. IELTS Bands 4-9 (NQF levels Entry 3 to Level 3) are accredited by Ofqual, England’s Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation.Visit www.ielts.org and www.takeielts.britishcouncil.org for more information and resources.