University of Birmingham

City/Town: Birmingham

Region: Central England

The University of Birmingham is a public research-focused university located in Edgbaston, Birmingham.  It received its royal charter in 1900 when it became the first university in the UK which was set up for the general public.  A red brick university, the University of Birmingham is a founding member of both the Russell Group and Universitas 21. The University is divided into five colleges: Arts & Law; Engineering & Physical Sciences; Life & Environmental Sciences; Medical & Dental Sciences; Social Sciences; and Liberal Arts.

With an outstanding reputation for both teaching quality and student satisfaction, the University of Birmingham was voted ‘University of the Year for Graduate Employment’ by The Times & The Sunday Times’ Good University Guide 2016.

There are currently over 30,000 students enrolled at the large, campus-based university and the student body is a 5,000-strong international community drawing on expertise and cultural influences from nearly 150 different countries.